

ELECTION OF CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR

Type of Item: Action

STATEMENT OF ISSUE

The Capital Region Transportation Planning Agency (CRTPA) members annually elect a new Chair and Vice-Chair to serve for the upcoming calendar year. The current positions are held by Commissioner Jeremy Matlow as Chair and Commissioner Kristin Dozier as Vice Chair. Staff is seeking the approval of a new Chair and Vice Chair to serve for calendar year 2022.

RECOMMENDED ACTION

Option 1: Elect a Chair and Vice Chair.

HISTORY AND ANALYSIS

Section IV, CRTPA By-laws provides the following guidance regarding the annual selection of the Chairperson and Vice Chairperson of the CRTPA:

"C. Officers and Duties

- The CRTPA Board shall hold an annual organizational meeting no later than the last Board meeting of the calendar year for the purpose of electing the following officers from its voting membership:
 - Chairperson
 - Vice-Chairperson
 - Representative to the Florida Metropolitan Planning Organization Advisory Council
 - Alternate representative to the Florida Metropolitan Planning Organization Advisory Council

The Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson shall be members of different member governments."

The following provides a listing of the members who have served as the CRTPA's most recent Chair and Vice-Chair:

YEAR	CHAIR	VICE CHAIR
2021	Commissioner Matlow	COMMISSIONER DOZIER
2020	COMMISSIONER MERRITT	Commissioner Matlow
2019	COMMISSIONER VIESBESIE	COMMISSIONER RANDY MERRITT
2018	Commissioner Nick Maddox	COMMISSIONER ANTHONY VIESBESIE
2017	COMMISSIONER RICHARDSON	COMMISSIONER NICK MADDOX
2016	COMMISSIONER BARFIELD	Commissioner Richardson

OPTIONS

Option 1: Elect a Chair and Vice Chair

(RECOMMENDED)

Option 2: Provide other direction